I mentioned in an earlier post that I had signed up for the Canon Photo5 Competition this year but I have to admit that even as I was writing that post I was unconvinced that I would actually get around to submitting photos for all 5 briefs, I do have a tendency to flake out on most of the projects I start after all, but I’m happy to report that I did manage to come up with something for all 5 briefs and even managed to submit them on time. Yay for me. If you want to read the briefs in more detail you can do so HERE.

Here are my submissions for this year.

1. Water Droplet: Canon supplied the water dropper and told us to ‘get up close’ I don’t have a macro lens but I’m quite happy with the results anyway. I photographed droplets on my shower curtain. I especially love the way the weave of the fabric is magnified in each droplet. The colours also kind of remind me of a NIN album cover which is quite cool.

2. The bubblegum portrait. This is probably the shot I am least pleased with. I wasn’t really able to come up with a unique idea for this one and without the assistance of a model I was left with no choice but to do a self portrait.

3. Confetti in Motion: For this shot I had originally planned to have the confetti catching alight as it fell toward the flame but when I was reviewing my shots afterwards this one turned out to be my favourite, I like that the confetti is still falling and the smoke is rising up to meet it.

4. Black and White Smoke: This photo is the one I am most proud of, even though it is probably the least inspired of them all. I’m so happy with the definition of the smoke, but truthfully it does look exactly like just about every other entry, it’s definitely not an original concept but I’m proud of it all the same. I really wanted to get a solid black background, but didn’t have anything suitable to use as a background around the house so I ended up using a black jumper. I probably could have edited the shot to make the background black, but my editing prowess ends with being able to crop so the grainy background stayed, I quite like it though.

5. The final brief was ‘Inspired by Sound’ and instead of sending through a prop they gave us the link to a sound clip. Listen to it HERE. Of course my first instinct was something falling but I figured most people would take that approach so instead I went with an Alice in Wonderland theme and took the shot from the perspective of Alice as she suddenly finds herself unexpectedly shrinking.

All in all it was great fun, I really felt quite challenged by the whole thing and considering I don’t really know anything about photography I’m quite proud of the results. Of course I’m not anywhere near the level of some of the entries that were submitted which is a bit daunting but maybe by next year I’ll not only enter, but actually be good enough to have a shot at becoming a finalist! Here’s hoping anyway.

