I saw this today on Leila’s blog and thought I would give it a whirl. It was surprisingly fun playing around at Polyvore, though it’s not a website I would usually visit because I am fashion impaired. I’m the girl you find wearing her beat up old cons, and a comfy old pair of jeans, I don’t own a pair of heels, and even wore sneaks on my wedding day – much to the amusement of my guests. Anyway here was the brief:

“If I asked you to slip on a pair of jeans, a simple top, a pair of flat shoes, and any accessories you liked, what would you come up with? No doubt you’d come out looking vastly different to the next person, but how?”

And here is what I came up with:

meThis is pretty much what you see me in almost every day except that my headphones are black and my necklace doesn’t have ‘dream’ on it.. instead I have 3 tiny little pendants, one handmade (not by me) OM symbol, one tiny silver tiki from New Zealand and a moonstone drop pendant (supposedly to assist with fertility).

I’ve been looking at this picture in comparison to some of the other responses to this little challenge, and I’m beginning to think that I’m a sad excuse for a woman in her late twenties, next year I’ll be thirty and I still dress like I did a decade ago! What a sad state of affairs. In fact, when I think about it, the only thing that is really different between my ‘outfits’ now, compared with 19 year old Nixter is my wedding ring, and my black square rimmed glasses that I need to see (because my eyes realise they are old, even if the rest of me doesn’t).  What I can’t quite figure out though, is whether I used to dress like 30 year old, or I now dress like a teenager?

