Though technically I wasn’t tagged by she who’s house smells like vanilla, I’m going to do this meme anyway. Seems like a nice and easy way to easy myself into Friday morning.

The rules:
1. Respond and rework; answer the questions on your blog, replace one question that you dislike with a question of your invention, add one more question of your own.
2. Tag eight other people (if you feel so inclined). If you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged!

So here goes:

1038_7943photocredit

What is your current obsession?
At the moment, Converse shoes. Suddenly I just keep finding these new styles that I WANT to buy. So far I’ve managed to restrain myself, but they are just so puuuuuurty!

What is your weirdest obsession?
Home birth! Which isn’t all that weird except that I’m not a mother and am not pregnant. I love reading home birth stories and I love love love all the women on JB who have inspired and nurtured me and taught me so much.

What are you wearing today?
Purple dreadband, thick rimmed black glasses, black Tshirt (with a thermal underneath), jeans, purple cons.

What’s for dinner?
Nachos! It’s my usual Friday celebration dinner.

What is your top five favourite days?
1. Nong Khai and the Thailand Fire Ball Festival (read about it here)
2. Visiting Umphang School in Thailand (read about it here)
3. Last Saturday in Melbourne
4. My wedding day (is it sad that it’s 4th? I don’t think so!)
5. The day I took my Nan skydiving for her 60th birthday

What’s the last thing you bought?
Other than food type stuff? Um, Jeans!

What are you listening to right now?
The guys in my office talking about motorbikes

If you could go anywhere in the world for the next hour, where would you go?
Paris, just to wander around, get some coffee and pastries, take some photos.. beautiful!

Which language do you want to learn?
Spanish! Because I really really really want to spend 3 months in South America next year.

What do you love most about where you currently live?
That it’s a 10 minute walk from work and that it has a lovely view. But other than that I don’t like Sydney at all and I can’t wait to leave (3 weeks to go!).

What is your favorite colour?
Purple! I’m purple obsessed!

What is your favorite piece of clothing in your own wardrobe?
What wardrobe? haha. Um I have this black top that is loose enough that I can hide in it when I’m having a fat day and it’s super comfy and light enough to wear in summer and with a thermal underneath it’s great for winter too. In fact I love it so much I bought two!

What is your favourite way to spend a day off?
Wake up without the alarm, have brunch with my husband, take a walk somewhere beautiful, vegan yum cha for lunch at The Green Gourmet, spend the afternoon with a great book (curled up in my giant lovesac), dinner and a dvd at home (as long as hubby is doing the cooking).

lovesacphotocredit

What were you doing ten years ago?
Wow, 1999, What a nightmare of a year. In the first half I was 19 and trying desperately to get out of a very unhealthy, abusive relationship. I was studying at TAFE and trying to find work, my self esteem was in tatters. In the second half I was living alone for the first time in my life, and working at the television station in town and volunteering at the local youth refuge and trying to come to terms with being on my own. Things got much better for me from late 2000.

Describe your personal style?
Casual hippy about sums it up. My jeans always have a flare, my shoes are purple, my dreads have lots of colourful beads, usually my tops are black though – hiding my cupcake belly!

If you had $100 now, what would you spend it on?
These

cons

What are you going to do after this?
Work. It’s my last day here on my own before I have to start training my replacement on Monday, I have a lot to organise. At 11am I’m meeting my husband for coffee. The only 30 minutes we’ll have together all day.

What are your favourite films?
Oh, I love movies, this could take a while!
The Breakfast Club
Some Kind of Wonderful
Empire Records
Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind
Boys Don’t Cry
Before Sunrise/Before Sunset
The Notebook
Big Fish
Vanilla Sky
Natural Born Killers
Amelie
Dogma
Chasing Amy
Clerks
Return to Paradise
Okay, I’ll stop there!

What inspires you?
Beautifully written novels, nature, freedom

Your favourite books?
The Dark Tower Series
The Time Travellers Wife
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
Everything’s Illuminated
Goodnight Mr Tom
Bridge to Terabithia
The Kite Runner
White Teeth
The Ground Beneath her Feet
Shantaram
The Pact
Anything by Ian McEwan
White Oleander
I love books!!!

Do you collect anything?
I used to colled frogs. Now I collect experiences.

What makes you follow a blog?

Generally I follow a lot of amazing, empowered, incredibly inspiring women. (or if they are funny!)

What was the most enjoyable thing you did today?
Felt my husband resting his head on my shoulder.

What new skill would you like to learn?
There are so many things. Top of the list, I would like to learn how to make clothes.

