It’s blog this time again! Here is this weeks challenge:

Guilty Pleasures
Come on!  Everyone has at least one!

Chocolate? Trashy TV?  Magazines? Romance Novels? Designer brands? Maybe it’s having a 20 minute shower?

Tell us about your your guilty pleasure, why you love it so much, where, when, how and what!

So here goes, my top 5 guilty pleasures:

1. Trashy teen dramas on DVD

I know, I know pitiful right? I don’t own a TV, I literally left it on the side of the road when we moved house and I’ve never looked back. I no longer have to sit through hours of mind numbing advertising or face possible epileptic fits from clicking through a hundred channels at the speed of light just in case there is something we are missing on a different channel.

When people come to our house and realise we don’t have a TV they react one of two ways, either they think I’m crazy and start backing nervously toward the door, or they decide that I’m some kind of intellectual saint. The truth is, although I don’t own a TV I have to admit that I spend more than a small amount of time camped out in front of my laptop totally and embarrassingly absorbed in trashy TV melodramas, more often than not of the angsy teen variety. I can spend HOURS churning through DVD after DVD of fictional drama.. can’t get enough! My most recent discovery was Dawson’s Creek, I watched the whole series in a matter of days and developed an undeniable crush on Pacey Witter (friend to women). This week I’ve started in on The O.C. and next on my list is the original 90210. (I can’t believe I am admitting to this.. anyway, onto the next on my list of guilty pleasures!)

2. Books, Books, Books.

I love books and I own an embarrassing large number of them – though not nearly as many as I would like! My bookcases are overflowing and I have piles of books everywhere. It doesn’t matter how many times I try and put them in their rightful place, every time I turn around there are new piles of books.. reference books piled up on my desk by the computer, 3 or 4 novels – whichever I’m reading at the moment – in a little pile next to Freddie (our giant beanbag), one lone book on the arm of the armchair by the fire, a stack of cookbooks and a notebook on my husbands bedside table, the joy of vegan baking open on the dining table with a shopping list beside it, a handful – or two – on the table by the doorway, ready to be taken back to the library or be released into the wild via bookcrossing.. I just can’t escape them!

And that is nothing compared to the books sitting in my wishlist in various websites across the internet.. hundreds! (actually probably thousands!) patiently waiting for me to have some spare cash so that I can add to my collection. It’s a weakness that’s for sure, the crazy thing is that there isn’t nearly enough time to read the books as fast as I accumulate them so there are SO many that I haven’t read yet, it’s kind of overwhelming, and yet I just keep buying more and more. It’s kind of out of control.. but better books than shoes right?
… well, speaking of shoes …

3. Converse sneakers

This is a reasonably new guilty pleasure, I have always loved my cons and I firmly believe that converse are the most comfortable shoes known to man, but the obsession has just really started to gain steam in the last few months. Every morning I get an email from TradeMe with the new converse listings over the previous 24 hours and every morning the first thing I do is click through each listing to try and find pairs in my size (W9 – hint hint) that I might want to buy (and are in our price range of practically nothing). My goal is to eventually have every single colour as well as a few of the beautiful limited edition designs like the one above. I especially covet the 1hund(red) designs, but so far I haven’t had much luck tracking those down..

4. Sleeping in

I love my bed. What’s not to like? It’s a king size bed with 1000 thread count sheets, a massive cozy doona and super fluffy pillows. My bedroom is my haven, I have a CD player in there which plays relaxing quiet music on repeat to set the mood for serious dozing. Did I mention I love my bed? I seriously LOVE my bed, it kind of borders on disturbing actually. I sleep a lot, sleep is like a hobby to me and since moving to New Zealand I get to sleep in every. single. day. and I love it. In Sydney we were early birds, we both had to be at the office at 8:30 am (well, I had to be at the office, Luke had to be at the kitchen.. but you know what I mean) even on weekends we’d be up early and off being busy little bees, but these days life is much different. Luke’s earliest shift of the week is midday but most days he doesn’t start until 3pm so we have alllllll morning to sleep and it’s fabulous. We rarely get out of bed before 11am, but then again, we rarely go to bed before 2 or 3 so I guess it evens out.

5. Spending the whole day inside

My last guilty pleasure is probably the strangest but I really love being able to spend the whole day in my house. I think my enjoyment of having nowhere to go and nothing to do verges a little on the agoraphobic side, sometimes I really have to work myself up to leave the house to do something as simple as walking down to the corner store to check the PO Box. It sounds strange but I really enjoying spending all day by myself, not having to talk to anyone or do anything specific (probably so that I can indulge in all my other guilty pleasures!!). Don’t get me wrong, I love having visitors, and holiday guests, I love dinner parties and heading into Queenstown to get out and about amongst the world, but I also really love just spending the whole day in the comfort of my own home.

What are your guilty pleasures?

