Okay, okay, so I know that I’m going to get called unpatriotic for this one, especially since I do still call Melbourne home, and I know that you will all be sitting there rolling your eyes at the left wing hippie but I’m willing to accept all of that because you know what? This is my blog and I can cry if I want to!

Feel free to avert your eyes until we get back to regularly scheduled programming, this won’t take but a minute!

Here goes:

I don’t support the Melbourne cup.. there I said it! Let the backlash begin!

I’m all for a bit of fun, I’m for dressing up and having a day off in November (if you live in Melbourne that is), I totally support getting to drink beer at 2 oclock in the afternoon, I even don’t mind a bit of gambing, but I have really never understood the logic behind horse racing. To me, it has always just been animal cruelty. All that whipping for 30 seconds of race? I mean, lets face it, it’s animal exploitation.

Horse_Efficient_07

In most cases, animal exploitation is frowned upon, look at circus animals for example, circuses with animals were all the rage a while back, but fell out of fashion – thank goodness for that – my question is this though, why is one form of animal exploitation acceptable and another form not? And in both cases here we are talking specifically animal exploitation for entertainment purposes.

And what about the thousands of horses who are bred each year specifically for racing but that aren’t fast enough? I’m pretty sure they are headed not for greener pastures but for the slaughter house.. and just because they didn’t run round a track fast enough! It doesn’t really seem fair.

2008+Melbourne+Cup+Day+7_i4wscXvXll

And that’s only part of it, what about horses who get injured during races? I remember a couple of years back hearing about a horse that fell during one of the races on Melbourne Cup day (but not the actual Melbourne Cup), the horse had broken its leg, so they brought out some big blue screens so that no one could see what was happening and shot it right there on the track! According to some of the information I’ve read there are over 800 horses killed that way every year in the US alone – and that is just horses injured on the track! What about horses injured during training?

I also read about Lasix, which is a legal horse drug (as in legal within the horse race community – your horse can take it and still run) used to stop the bleeding in an injured horse’s lungs so that it can still race, albeit for a short amount of time.

Look, I don’t expect to change anyone’s mind, or to wake up next year and find you all boycotting the Melbourne cup, I don’t mind if you put on a nice hat and drink some champagne and head down to the TAB for a bit of a flutter, but if just one of you has read this and realised that you had just never thought about it that way before, then I’ll be happy. By all means enjoy the races, just make sure you’re a little bit aware of the cost first.

End transmission.

(and now I am heading off into NaNoWriMo world, because this time I really was procrastinating!)

