Jan 13th and I’m only just getting around to writing my first blog post for the year! What a slacker! 2010 got off to a great albeit slightly belated, start with a glass of champagne with Luke when he got home from work at 1am. Before he got home, I had spent the night skyping with friends all over the place and listening to my favourite songs (and feeling a little sad, if I’m honest!). There were loads of people along the shore of the lake huddled around driftwood fires and setting off firecrackers, it was all very festive. After our glass of champagne to celebrate not only the new year, but also our 7 year anniversary, we snuggled up in bed and watched a movie and then fell asleep.. what party animals we are!

Jan 1st I woke up all motivated and ready to get started on my new years resolution to somehow figure out how to climb the damn mountain near my house and get to the lookout at the top. I figure if I can climb just a little bit further each day then I will eventually get there. I took a photo for you, but it doesn’t seem to truly illustrate just how high that thing is.. oh well,  it will give you an idea!

So for three days I walked and climbed for as long as I could and then had lunch on whichever comfy rock I could find, before walking home, exhausted. So far so good (well except for the fact that I’ve been sick and unable to get out of bed!, back to it tomorrow!).

Jan 3rd was our first wedding anniversary, Luke worked again but when he got home we celebrated with a midnight picnic by the lake which was very lovely, if a little chilly. Summer seems to have passed us by here on the South Island, much to the disappointment of all the summer folk who had plans for a long relaxing summer and have all abandoned their summer houses and headed back home because it’s been so cold.

Jan 4th, after our very lovely midnight moonlit picnic, I promptly fell sick and didn’t get out of bed for days and days and days. Lots of movie watching and herbals teas later, I’m finally feeling half way normal and so here I am finally updating! I hope you are all having a safe new year so far!

