It’s been a long time since I updated this blog and things sure have changed since I was last here.

For one, there is a whole new person in the world – In my last post I was 37 weeks pregnant. I was expecting to give birth any day, but didn’t end up going into labour until I was 19 days past my ‘due’ date. On Feb 13th I woke up at 6am with my contractions already started. I spent the day labouring at home and playing scrabble with my mother. At 11.30pm I gave birth to a beautiful little girl in our loungeroom, in an inflatable kiddie pool with fishes on the sides. Juniper was born with just me, her father, my mother and our midwife present. Although our midwife arrived with only 20 minutes to spare! After birthing her, I reached into the water and found a leg, skinny and slimy and warm, and I spun her around in the water until I found her shoulders and then brought her out of the water. She didn’t make a sound, but had her eyes wide open, taking it all in. We sat in the water staring at each other for ten full minutes before anyone even thought to check if she was a boy or a girl.

Juniper is now 5 and a half months old and growing so fast. Every day is a new adventure!

In other news, we said goodbye to our New Zealand home a few months back and are currently living in Sunny QLD, where we are saving up for a caravan. We are embracing our nomad tendencies and expect to be mobile in about a year from now, travelling around Australia, one town at a time. We are looking forward to the adventure, but in the meantime we are enjoying the QLD wintertime, and not at all missing the snowy Queenstown winter.

Life is good, I hope it is for you as well!